ProDeal users generally have the ability to decide which teams can view their uploaded documents. The ability to control access to items within a room is incredibly flexible. This comprehensive guide offers an overview of managing access on ProDeal as well as links to more in-depth articles.

For hosts, we suggest you watch this video for a quick overview of managing access on ProDeal

Managing Access to Documents

To choose who you want to share a document with, simply select the appropriate Teams upon upload. Only those teams will be able to see the document.

To manage access to a document once it has been uploaded into your room:

  • Select one or more documents by clicking the corresponding check-boxes
  • Click Manage Access button on the top of your checklist
  • Check or uncheck the correct boxes for each Team to grant or remove their access.
  • Click Save Changes.

You can select each team but clicking the checkbox or select all teams using the access checkbox at the top of the dialog.

Learn more information on managing access to documents

Managing Access to Folders

To manage access to one or more folders:

  • Select one or more folders by clicking the corresponding check-boxes
  • Click Manage Access button on the top of your checklist
  • Check or uncheck the correct boxes for each Team to grant or remove their access.
  • Click Save Changes.

Note: Using bulk select will automatically select the desired checklist item and all sub-folders and contained documents. You can deselect any combination of items to create access only to the items you choose.

Frequently Asked Questions

How do I adjust a team's access settings?

Hosts and admins (click here if you are unsure whether you are a host or admin) have access to two helpful tools to oversee access:

  • The Access Menu. By clicking the access menu, you can click on a specific team to view the checklist to see what that team sees.

  • Manage Access on the Teams Page. Navigate to the teams page and click "manage access" next to any team. There you can decide what checklist items that teams sees and click save to make your selection. The Can I To change access to an existing document as a Host, go to the Teams page and click on Manage Access at the top right of each Team. Then check or uncheck the boxes for each Line Item or document to give access to the individual documents or all contents of the Line Item.

Does a responsibility assignment depend on access?

Yes, a team that is marked as responsible for a checklist item will, by default, have access to that item. For example, if a team without access to a folder is given responsibility for that folder, the access pop-up will indicate that access will be granted to the folder upon giving responsibility.

While the responsible team may receive access to the item, it does not give access to all contents within that item.

If a team does not have access to a folder but I give them access to a document within that folder, will they then see the parent folder?

Yes, sharing a document grants the receiving team access to all parent folders.

What happens when I move folders?

Moving folders or documents into other folders will result in that folder or document inheriting the access permissions of the destination folder. Please make sure to carefully read the pop-up message to fully understand the implications of moving checklist items.

Can I use bulk actions to change a team's access?

Selecting multiple items within the room and changing their access may result in lost access to subitems as well as responsibility. Alternatively, granting access to multiple items within the room may result in access to previously hidden parent folders or headings. If you have any questions as to what any team can see, use the access filter or manage a team's access via the "Manage Access" button on the team's page.

Did this answer your question?