Skip to main content

Default Notification Settings for External Users

Learn how to customize your Room's email notification settings for external guests.

Written by Lei Cabangil

Customize your Notification Settings for external guests at the room level.

You can manage your notification settings for each room separately. But, you can also manage the Default Notifications Settings for external users in all future rooms you are added to or you create.


Defaults for Users outside your organization

  1. You can find the Room's Notification Settings by clicking the 3-dash menu on the upper left side of your dashboard.

  2. Click Notifications then choose Defaults for users outside your organization.

  3. You can set default notification preferences for external users, but they can modify these settings at any time. Notification settings cannot be locked or enforced.

  4. Choose the frequency of notifications - whether you'd like notifications to be sent once a day (Daily Summary at 6 AM ET) or immediately following an event (Instant email). If you decide to receive notification following an event, keep in mind they are cumulatively sent every 15 minutes for all events that happened with those 15 minutes timeframe.

  5. If you decide to receive notifications in real-time; on the Instant email column, you have the option of selecting whether you'd like to receive All notifications (Always) or only notifications related to line items that are your Team’s responsibility (Only my team's items).

  6. Once you are done customizing the notifications, click SAVE.

You can manage notifications for the following items:

  1. File Approvals - When a file is moved to a Closed status (e.g. Approved).

  2. File uploads and New versions - When a file is uploaded or replaced with a new version.

  3. Custom column changes - When a custom column value changes on a file or folder.

  4. First-time Room visits - When someone opens the room for the first time.

  5. Deletions - When a file or folder is deleted.

  6. Item Status changes - When the status of a folder changes.

  7. Notes - When a note is added, edited or deleted on an item.

  8. Access changes - When a team is granted or removed access to a file or folder.

Did this answer your question?